Edit ModuleShow Tags

2010 Newbery Award and Caldecott Medal


The 2010 Newbery Medal and Caldecott Medal, the nation's highest honors within the children's and young adult literature genres, were awarded by the American Library Association at their annual meeting in Boston.

Rebecca Stead was given the Newbery Medal for her novel "When You Reach Me."Jerry Pinkney was awarded the Caldecott Medal for the illustrated story "The Lion and the Mouse."

The Newbery Medal is given to the library association's pick for best novel, and the Caldecott honors extraordinary illustration of children's works published during the previous year.

Stead's time-traveling narrative is set in Manhattan during the 1970s and is the story of a sixth grader named Miranda who leads readers on an adventure wrapped around a homeless man. The book pays homage to Madeleine L'Engle's 1963 Newbery winner "A Wrinkle in Time."

"The Lion and the Mouse" is a re-telling of the Aesop fable in pictures along. For a list of winners from previous years go to the American Library Association's web site at www.ala.org.

Read full article

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Related Content

When is it Legal to Leave Kids at Home Alone?

What children can do without supervision is a legal gray area.

Don’t think you can afford private school?

Kathleen Wareham offers guidance on choosing private school

Explore: Your Guide to Educational Enrichment

Whether you're planning outings for preschoolers, educating a third grader at home, running a day camp or teaching high school science, look to Explore to bring community enrichment into the learning experience.
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module

Family Events Calendar

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags