Edit ModuleShow Tags

Erika's weekend pics: Recess Monkey live, a Monster Dash, and Star Wars music



Photo: West Seattle Monster Dash/Flickr

 

Erika Lee Bigelow writes in Seattle when not chauffeuring 3 kids and one dog to too many activities. 


Monster Bash, Sat 3-7 p.m. St. Stephen's Church. It's the 7th year of this great festival presented by Susannah White's Three Feet of Sunshine. Get out your costume and come to St. Stephen's Church on Sat from 3-7 for pony rides, prizes, a performance by Recess Monkey, a cupcake walk, ghoulish games and creepy crafts. All proceeds benefit Seattle Children's Pediatric Advanced Care Team. $13. threefeetofsunshine.org

 

West Seattle Monster Dash, Sat 9 a.m. Lincoln Park. Another great opportunity to use the costumes. Join the 5K fun run and kids dash. Take part in a costume contest and party and money raised will benefit the South Seattle College Cooperative Preschools. $35, $20 ages 12 and younger, $10 kids dash (7 and younger) westseattlemonsterdash.com

 

Little Red, Renton Carco Theater, Sat 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. We all know the tale of little girl, the Grandmother and wolf...don't we? You might be surprised by the twist on this classic tale. Storybook Theater once again has created a musical winner, great for preschool and young elementary-aged kids. $11. storybooktheater.org

 

Book Launch for A Sliver of Stardust, Sat 2-4 p.m. Parkplace Books. FREE. Local, Seattle author Marissa Burt presents her new middle-school grade fantasy, A Sliver of Stardust. If you have readers who enjoyed A Wrinkle in Time or The Emerald Atlas, they are bound to love this tale of heroine Wren Matthews who discovers the secrets to the universe in children's nursery rhymes. Can she save the world around her? Come meet the author and pick up the book. marissaburt.com

 

Nightmare at Beaver Lake, Thurs-Sun thru Oct 31, Sammamish. Goosebumps and shivers guaranteed at this indoor/outdoor spooky walk. Kids 10 and younger and their families will likely prefer the family scare from 7-7:45 p.m. All the rest of your brave souls can try the full scare from 8-11 p.m. $12 family scare, $18 full scare. nightmarebeaverlake.com

 

Washington Wind Symphony: In a Galaxy Far, Far Away. Sun 2 p.m. Kirkland Performance Ctr. With the much-anticipated movie almost upon us, it is all Star Wars all the time. And this weekend proves it. The WA Wind Symphony is taking on the original trilogy with performances of the Star Wars music including the Arutunian Trumpet Concerto performed by Raymond Deleon. If you have music lovers and Star Wars fanatics in your household, you've got them covered here. $16, $11 seniors, $6 youth. kpcenter.org

Edit ModuleShow Tags

Related Content

More than 20 ways to help families in need during the holiday season

For those who are struggling to make ends meet, the holidays can be one of the most difficult times of the year.

Your Guide to Seattle-Area Indoor Playspaces and Fun

Keep your kids entertained and your sanity intact with this survival guide for all your rainy day indoor needs.

14 FREE Things To Do With Kids This Week, Nov. 13-19

Learn about those fall leaves, see a magic show, and get a little taste of Christmas.

Add your comment:
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module

Family Events Calendar

Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit Module Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags
Edit ModuleShow Tags