Seattle's Child

Your guide to a kid-friendly city

state parks are free 12 days in 2023

Two friends view the Palouse Hills from Steptoe Butte State Park. (Washington State Parks photo)

Free Entrance Days to Washington State Parks and National Parks in 2024

Get reacquainted with your favorite park or discover one you haven't tried before on a free park day

12 FREE days in the State Parks in 2024

A Discover Pass is required to access the more than 100 state parks in Washington, except on the 12 days below, which have been designated FREE entrance days in 2024. A couple of things to keep in mind: The free days do not apply to Sno-Parks, for which a separate Sno-Park permit is needed. Also, lands managed by the Washington Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) are not free on those days.

Find a state park by going HERE. 

Monday, Jan. 1 – New Year’s Day and First Day Hikes

Monday, Jan. 15 – Martin Luther King Jr. Day

Saturday, March 9 – Billy Frank Jr.’s birthday

Tuesday, March 19 – Washington State Parks’ birthday

Monday, April 22 – Earth Day

Saturday, June 8 – National Get Outdoors Day

Sunday, June 9 – Free fishing day

Wednesday, June 19 – Juneteenth National Independence Day

Saturday, Sept. 28 – National Public Lands Day

Thursday, Oct. 10 – World Mental Health Day

Monday, Nov. 11 – Veterans Day

Friday, Nov. 29 – Autumn Day

Washington State Parks has launched an online store from which you can order guidebooks, passes, art prints, and other State Parks merchandise.

6 FREE days in the National Parks in 2024

In 2024 all national parks that charge admission, including the three national parks located in Washingon state, will offer free entrance days to everyone on the following dates (with some state park free dates overlapping).

January 15: Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

April 20: First day of National Park Week

June 19: Juneteenth National Independence Day

August 4: Anniversary of the Great American Outdoors Act

September 28: National Public Lands Day

November 11: Veterans Day

 

[Read More: Billy Frank Jr. Nisqually wildlife refuge is a great place for a walk with kidsDeception Pass: What to do with kids in Washington’s most-visited state park]

 

 

 

 

About the Author

Julie Hanson

Julie Hanson is a longtime journalist, South King County resident and mom to a 15-year-old girl.