Seattle's Child

Your guide to a kid-friendly city

Emily’s Book Picks: A silly lesson for preschoolers, and poetry for parents

A great choice for kids who are mastering their letters.

When fellow parents ask how I find time to read with a baby and a preschooler at home, I tell them I read what I love! Here’s a peek at what I’m enjoying and what my children and I are reading together, because finding books they love will help your kids read more too. Both of these titles, and many more, are available as eBooks or audiobooks in KCLS’ digital collection.  And with modified in-building services being offered at some KCLS locations, physical copies can either be picked up inside now, or at a contactless Curbside to Go spot or 24/7 locker.

What I’m Reading: “What Kind of Woman” by Kate Baer
If you’re tuned into parenting on Instagram, you may already be familiar with Baer’s poetry, which deals with the messy, complicated business of being a woman, mother and wife. I am not much of a poetry reader, but I devoured this in one sitting, and was moved to tears more than once by the sense of recognition I felt while reading it. I’ll be celebrating National Poetry Month with several rereads of this wonderful collection.

What we’re Reading: “Z is for Moose” by Kelly L. Bingham and Paul O. Zelinsky

One of my preschooler’s favorite rainy day activities is having video chat story time with her grandma. This alphabet book about a moose who can’t wait for his moment in the spotlight — and then is horribly disappointed when “Mouse” steps into it instead — is a current favorite. With a silly, metafictional tone that will appeal to fans of “Elephant & Piggie,” this is a great choice for kids who are mastering their letters.

Find more book picks from Emily Calkins here

Don’t miss: Emily’s top 10 books of 2020, for kids and adults

Much more news for book lovers in our Book Corner newsletter

About the Author

Emily Calkins

Emily Calkins is the readers' services program coordinator for the King County Library System, where she specializes in connecting readers with stories, authors and each other. She is also the co-host of the library’s podcast, The Desk Set. As a reader, she likes flawed characters, atmospheric world-building, and anything with a slow-burn romance. When she’s not reading or listening to audiobooks, she’s cooking, gardening and spending time with her family.